TMC Super Tech

TMCSuperTech is North America’s premier skills competition for professional commercial vehicle technicians.


The Technology & Maintenance Council’s National Technician Skills Competition—TMCSuperTech—is an annual event held in conjunction with TMC’s Fall Meeting. The event is organized by TMC’s Professional Technician Development Committee.

TMCSuperTech contestants come from all segments of the trucking industry, and many are state, regional or corporate champions.

The competition is a two-day event. Day One features the qualifying round, consisting of a three-part written challenge and various hands-on skills challenges. Day subsequent hands-on skills challenge. Following the Day One qualifying round, there is a reception at which TMC announces the names of a predetermined number of contestants who are eligible to compete on Day Two in the Hands-on Skills Challenge. The last day of the event consists of a technician training fair (featuring numerous hands-on job related training classes that qualify for NATEF continuing education units), followed by an competition awards banquet.

Competition Details

The competition is open to any actively employed commercial vehicle technician. However, all competitors must be TMC Technician Members. Active members are eligible to enter the competition without fee. Nonmembers will pay an entry fee and will become members for the remainder of the year. Verified champions of state trucking association technician skills competitions may enter without paying a fee. Grand Champions of previous TMC National Technician Skills Competitions are eligible to compete. [Membership forms available at or by calling TMC offices at (703) 838-1763.]

In early May TMCSuperTech registration forms can be found at Registrations forms must be postmarked by a specific date set by TMC. Only preregistered contestants are eligible to compete. Contestants are sent a confirmation of their registration and housing accommodations in advance of the event.

TMCSuperTech events are co-located with the Technology & Maintenance Council’s Fall Meeting, which is typically held in September or October of each year. Check with TMC for the latest event schedule.


This award is presented annually to the Top Winner of TMC’s National Technician Skills Competition.

2005  Steve Talmadge
2006  Tyson Sontag
2007  Bryan Lewis
2008  Bryan Lewis
2009  Christopher Tate
2010  Jeff Schlecht
2011  Jeff Schlecht
2012  Chris Barnett
2013  Mark McLean, Jr.
2014  Mark McLean, Jr.
2015  Eric Vos
2016  Eric Vos
2017  Mark McLean, Jr.
2018  Philip Pinter