Press Release

California Moving Executive Honored with Cathy Evans Highway to Victory Award

Oct 16, 2023



Austin, Texas – Today, the American Trucking Associations recognized John Chipman Jr., executive vice president of Chipman Relocation & Logistics, with the 2023 Cathy Evans Highway to Victory Award for his dedication to advocacy on behalf of the trucking industry.

“John knows our industry inside and out, and he is laser focused on advocating for changes to strengthen it,” said Bill Sullivan, ATA’s Executive Vice President for Advocacy. “When the Moving & Storage Conference joined ATA, his perspective and counsel was especially beneficial to the smooth integration of these organizations, and his continued efforts have made this partnership a resounding success.”

In addition to his role at Chipman Relocation & Logistics, Chipman is chairman of MSC’s governmental affairs committee and a member of the Truck PAC board of directors.

“One of John’s signature issues is cracking down on moving fraud, a cause he is passionate about defending the reputations of hardworking, legitimate movers and protect customers,” Sullivan said. “He is also helping to lead the charge to preserve independent contractors’ right to make a living. As the leader of a California-based moving company, he understands what is at stake.”

“John is a tremendous leader and advocate for the moving and storage industry and trucking,” said MSC Executive Director Ryan Bowley. “I’m thrilled to see his hard work recognized with this award.”

Named for longtime ATA lobbyist Cathy Evans, the Highway to Victory Award is presented annually to an ATA member who has made significant contributions to the Federation’s advocacy efforts at the state and federal levels. Past winners include:

  • Mike Card, Combined Transport Inc.
  • Robert Low, Prime Inc.
  • Randy Guillot, Triple G Express
  • Robert Haag, Perfect Transportation
  • Greer Woodruff, JB Hunt
  • Derek Leathers, Werner Enterprises Inc.
  • Brian Parke, Maine Motor Transport Association