Press Release

ATA Safety Management Council Honors Industry’s Commitment to Safety

Apr 27, 2024

Phoenix, Arizona – Today, American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council honored several distinguished fleets and industry leaders for their commitment to safety on the highway and in the workplace.

“Safety is at the heart of our industry, and these carriers and professionals embody this principle consistently,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “I want to congratulate these valued members of our industry for their commitment to safety and professionalism.”

The winners were recognized at ATA’s 2024 Safety, Security & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Phoenix, Arizona.

They include:
2023 ATA National Safety Director of the Year – Sponsored by USI Insurance Services 

  • Steven Garrish, Vice President of Safety and Compliance, Old Dominion Freight Line Inc.

ATA President’s Trophy - Sponsored by Great West Casualty Company 

  • Over 100 Million Miles – Pitt Ohio, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
  • Between 25 – 100 Million Miles – TCW Inc, Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Under 25 Million Miles – J.W. Didado Electric, Akron, Ohio.

2023 ATA National Driver of the Year – Sponsored by DMC Insurance 

  • David Wolford, Continental Express Inc.

2023 Excellence in Safety – Sponsored by Great West Casualty Company 

  • Arkansas Trucking Association

“SMC is pleased to honor this year’s winners – all of whom play an important role in building our industry’s safety culture,” said SMC Executive Director Jacob Pierce. “Motor carriers, state association executives and our drivers do critical work in promoting and improving safety across our industry, and we thank them all for their commitment.”