Press Release

Arkansas Trucking Association’s Newton Named TAEC Chair

Jul 20, 2023

Washington – Today, the Trucking Association Executives Council announced that Shannon Newton, president and CEO of the Arkansas Trucking Association, has been elected the organization’s chairman for 2023-24.

As the Arkansas Trucking Association president since 2014, Newton has won several industry awards for her work in trucking – notably the 2017 Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award and the ATA President’s TAEC Leadership Award in 2018.  She is also a leader in several business and industry organizations, including Arkansas’ “Be Pro, Be Proud” program, the Good Roads Foundation, the Arkansas Society of Association Executives and the Arkansas Society of Professional Lobbyists.

“Because I have great respect for my colleagues, it is truly an honor and a privilege to be elected as their leader,” Newton said. “Over the past 20 years, my appreciation for what TAEC does, the valuable relationships it helps foster and the benefits it provides to our industry has only grown. I look forward to working with organizational leadership and representing my peers to promote this industry on which America relies.” 

Newton succeeds New Hampshire Motor Transport Association President Joseph Sculley as TAEC chairman. For the coming year, Texas Trucking Association President and CEO John Esparza will be TAEC vice chair.