Contact: Elisabeth Barna

October 18, 2015



ATA Honors Trucking’s Champions
Winners of Federation’s Top Awards and Competitions Recognized at Annual MCE


Philadelphia – Today, American Trucking Associations recognized the winners of some of the industry’s top honors as part of the annual Management Conference & Exhibition.


“Throughout the country, the trucking industry is full of individuals who exhibit a commitment to safety and professionalism each day, but there are certain individuals who have surpassed the call of duty in demonstrating that commitment,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves.


Winners of the National Truck Driving Championships and TMCSuperTech National Technician Skills Competition were honored during the ATA Management Conference & Exhibition.


ATA recognized Ronald Emenheiser, a Walmart Transportation professional truck driver based in Yorkana, Pennsylvania, and 2015 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion, as well as Eric Vos, a technician with FedEx Freight, Boise, Idaho, 2015 Technology and Maintenance Council SuperTech Grand Champion. Emenheiser has been a professional truck driver for more than 25 years and this year was his second appearance at the National Truck Driving Championships. Vos has 11 years of experience with FedEx Freight and earned second-place finishes at SuperTech in 2010, 2013 and 2014.


Both events were held earlier this year and a full list of division winners is below.


The ATA National Truck Driver of the Year was also announced today. This year, the award goes to James Hylan Grise, a Walmart Transportation driver from Lewisburg, Kentucky. Grise has been a professional truck driver for over 42 years and accumulated more than 4 million accident-free miles. He also appeared at the National Truck Driving Championships in 2005, 2011 and 2012.


Three fleets were honored with the ATA President’s Award. Kenco Transportation Services, PITT OHIO and Roehl Transport Inc. were selected for the Under 25 Million Miles, 25-100 Million Miles, and the Over 100 Million Miles awards respectively because of their impressive commitment to safety and proven safety results. The ATA President’s Award goes to fleets who demonstrate innovative approaches to safety and go above and beyond to keep America’s highways safe.


ATA will be announcing its National Safety Director of the Year and National Safety Professional Award of Excellence winners at the Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition November 2-4 in Little Rock, Ark.


President’s Award Winners

Under 25 Million Miles: Kenco Transportation Services

25 – 100 Million Miles: PITT OHIO

Over 100 Million Miles: Roehl Transport Inc.


National Truck Driving Championships Winners

Straight Truck: Jeremy Steger, Con-way Freight (Plymouth, Wisc.)

Three-Axle: Donald Logan, FedEx Freight (Eskridge, Kan.)

Four-Axle: Bradley Lester, FedEx Freight (Happy Valley, Ore.)

Five-Axle: Eric Ramsdell, Walmart Transportation (Wittmann, Ariz.)

Sleeper Berth Class: Ronald Emenheiser, Walmart Transportation (Yorkana, Pa.)

Twins: David Mogler, FedEx Freight (Commerce City, Colo.)

Flatbed Class:  Scott Woodrome, FedEx Freight (Middletown, Ohio)

Tank Truck Class: Brian Singelais, Sr., A. Duie Pyle, Inc. (Webster, Mass.)

Step Van: Andrew Tuck, FedEx Ground (Xenia, Ohio)

Rookie of the Year: Brook Figgins, FedEx Freight (Trinidad, Colo.)


TMCSuperTech National Technician Skills Competition Winners

ASE Written Test: Harold Wineinger, Walmart Transportation LLC (Crothersville, Ind.)

Lighting: Jesse Elmore, USA Truck Inc. (Van Buren, Ark.)

Fasteners: Brian Blevins, FedEx Freight (Harrison, Ark.)

RP Manual: Chris Barnett, Ryder System Inc. (Crittenden, Ky.)

Electrical Diagrams: Terry Podralski, W.W. Williams Corp. (Youngstown, Ohio)

CSA Compliance: TK Kilchenstein, Fleetpro Inc.

Electrical 1: Terry Podralski, W.W. Williams Corp. (Youngstown, Ohio)

Safety and Environment: Rudy Laguna, H-E-B Grocery Co. (San Antonio, Texas)

Wheel End 1: Jasen Weers, Walmart Transportation LLC (Coldwater, Mich.)

Torque: Dave Thrower, Old Dominion Freight Line Inc. (Carlisle, Pa.)

Precision Measuring: Chris Barnett, Ryder System Inc. (Crittendon, Ky.)

Coolant/DEF: Steven Fraser, PetroCNG (Sparks, Nev.)

Safety: Derick Hebert, Ryder System - Supply Chain Solutions (Glencoe, Ontario)

Starting & Charging: Brian Blevins, FedEx Freight (Harrison, Ark.)

HVAC: Jeremiah Larrabee, Stoops Freightliner (Lima, Ohio)

Brakes: Robert Anderson, TravelCenters of America (Grand Bay, Ala.)

Vehicle Control Systems: Larry Coatney, FedEx Freight (Summit, Ark.)

Steering & Suspension: Bob Hatch, Hartt Transportation (Bangor, Maine)

Fifth Wheel: Steve Willis, FedEx Freight (Henderson, Colo.)

Tire & Wheel: Russ Whitaker, TravelCenters of America (Rawlins, Wyo.)

PMI: Doug Nickles, FedEx Freight (East Moline, Ill.)

Drivetrain: Drew Dilmuth, FedEx Freight (Jacksonville, Fla.)

Engine Electronics: Darek Mowinski, Ryder System Inc. (Tecumseh, Ontario)

Service Information: Stephen Radford, Ryder System Inc. (Charlotte, N.C.)

Electrical 2: Steve Willis, FedEx Freight (Henderson, Colo.)

Engine Hardware: Kenneth Bilyea, Ryder System Inc. (London, Ontario)

Wheel End 2: Brian Blevins, FedEx Freight (Harrison, Ark.)


American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation’s freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or on Facebook. Trucking Moves America Forward