<< Back
Finalists Announced For 2015 Mike O'Connell Memorial Trucking's Top Rookie Program

Finalists Announced For 2015 Mike O'Connell Memorial Trucking's Top Rookie Program

Cash and prizes to be awarded at Great American Trucking Show

TUSCALOOSA, Ala., July 17, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Randall-Reilly has announced the finalists in its 2015 Mike O'Connell Memorial Trucking's Top Rookie contest. The program is designed to increase pride and professionalism among new drivers and to promote truck driving as a career choice during a severe driver shortage.

An expert panel of judges, comprised of representatives from training schools (both public and private), suppliers and trade associations, chose 10 top finalists: Chantelle Bomberry, who drives for Contrans Flatbed Group; Jeremy Degarmo, who is employed by TMC Transportation; John Deering, who works for Werner Enterprises; Paul Golden, a driver for H.O. Wolding, Inc.; Diego Guerrero, who drives for Stevens Transport; David Ham of Con-way Truckload; Amanda Hensche, a driver for Schneider; Tito McRae, who works for Maverick Transportation, Mackenzie Parks, a driver for Melton Truck Lines; and Frederick Weatherspoon of Dartco, Inc.

The finalists will be presented with over $25,000 in cash and prizes during a ceremony on Friday, August 28 during the Great American Trucking Show in Dallas. The winner of the Mike O'Connell Memorial Trucking's Top Rookie will be chosen from these finalists.

The winner will be awarded a number of prizes, including an interview with Eric Harley of the Red Eye Radio Network, as well as a $10,000 check; a custom plaque from Award Company of America; a RoadPro Getting Started Living On-The- Go Package; $1,000 cash and 100,000 MyRewards points from Pilot Flying J; a GPS unit and Motor Carrier Road Atlas from Rand McNally; a dash camera from Cobra Electronics; and an American Trucking Asso­ciations "Trucking Moves America Forward" gift pack­.

The remaining nine finalists will each be awarded $1,000 in cash in addition to a variety of other prizes.

The Mike O'Connell Memorial Trucking's Top Rookie contest is a partnership between Randall-Reilly, Truckload Carriers Association, Commercial Vehicle Training Association, Rand McNally, Shell ROTELLA, Pilot Flying J, Progressive Commercial Insurance, National Association of Publicly Funded Driving Schools, American Trucking Associations and the Red Eye Radio Network.

SOURCE Randall-Reilly