<< Back
ATA Congratulates Fleets for Receiving EPA SmartWay Excellence Awards


Contact: Sean McNally

October 7, 2014



ATA Congratulates Fleets for Receiving EPA SmartWay Excellence Awards


San Diego – Today, American Trucking Associations leaders congratulated several member fleets on receiving EPA SmartWay Excellence Awards at the ATA Management Conference & Exhibition.


“For a decade, ATA has been a vocal supporter of the SmartWay Transport Partnership, and for a decade our members have been working to reduce carbon emissions and save fuel using the proven techniques endorsed by SmartWay,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves.


Among the fleets honored with SmartWay Excellence Awards were ATA members: ABF Freight System, Inc., CR England, CRST Van Expedited Inc., D.P. Curtis Trucking Inc., Doug Andrus Distributing LLC, Fed Ex Express, Frito-Lay, Gordon Trucking Inc., H-E-B Grocery Co., Knight Transportation Inc., Mesilla Valley Transportation, Prime Inc., Roehl Transport Inc., Ruan Transportation Management Systems Inc., Sunbury Transport Ltd., TransX and Werner Enterprises.


In total, EPA honored 58 fleets for their work with the SmartWay Transport Partnership.


“Gone are the days of smoke-belching rigs going down the road,” said incoming ATA Chairman Duane Long, chairman of Longistics, Raleigh, N.C. “Today’s trucking industry is committed to sustainability like never before and SmartWay is a demonstration not just of that commitment, but a model for industry-government partnerships.”


American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation’s freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or on Facebook. Trucking Moves America Forward