Tax Policy Committee

Mission Statement

The Tax Policy Committee is responsible for developing ATA policy relating to federal and state taxes affecting the trucking industry. The Committee addresses business taxes, such as corporate income and franchise taxes, excise taxes, estate taxes, sales and use taxes and license fees. In addition, the Committee considers operating taxes such as fuel taxes, tire taxes, vehicle registration fees and heavy-vehicle use taxes. The Committee coordinates with the Highway Policy Committee on highway user fee and tax issues. The Committee receives support from the National Accounting & Finance Council for research, analysis and policy development.

ATA Staff Liaison

Committee Chair & Vice Chair

Committee Chair

Billy Stewart

VP of Tax
U.S. Xpress Enterprises, Inc.
Chatanooga, TN

Committee Vice Chair

Cheryl Harper

Senior Tax Manager
ArcBest Corporation
Fort Smith, AR

Supported by the technical experts on the National Accounting & Finance Council.

NOTE: All ATA meetings are conducted in strict compliance with the ATA Antitrust Guidelines and pursuant to Robert’s Rules of Order.