<< Back
Trucking Association Executives Council Honors Former State Executives


Contact: Sean McNally

August 4, 2017




Trucking Association Executives Council Honors Former State Executives

ATA Federation Recognizes Rasmussen, Vineyard for Service


Arlington, Virginia – At their recent annual meeting the Trucking Association Executives Council recognized two distinguished individuals with a pair of prestigious awards.


TAEC honored Karen Rasmussen, president and CEO of HELP Inc. and former president of the Arizona Trucking Association, with the J.R. ‘Bob’ Halladay Award.


“Karen’s extensive work within TAEC as a Vice President at the California Trucking Association, state government affairs representative for Ryder, Inc. followed by her tremendously successful term at the AzTA and now with HELP Inc., has benefitted our industry and TAEC in countless ways,” said immediate past TAEC Chairman Tom Whitaker, executive director of the Kansas Motor Carriers Association. “TAEC is delighted to be able to recognize her contributions with this prestigious award.”


First presented in 1991, the J.R. 'Bob' Halladay Award recognizes an individual who lends outstanding assistance and support to the work and efforts of state trucking associations. This prestigious award is bestowed only when a TAEC region hosting the Annual Meeting deems an individual worthy hence it is not presented annually.


The industry group also posthumously honored Jan Vineyard, with the TAEC Chairman’s Excellence Award. Vineyard succumbed to ALS in May and served as the executive director of the West Virginia Trucking Association from October 2006 until her passing.


“In addition to being a tremendous advocate for trucking in her state and beyond, Jan was a great friend to many of us in this community and she is greatly missed,” said Iowa Motor Truck Association President and CEO Brenda Neville.


Finally, TAEC named Kendra Hems, president of the Trucking Association of New York, as chair for the coming year while Frank Filgo, president & CEO of the Alabama Trucking Association was elected to be the national vice-chairman. As chair, Hems assumes the position of TAEC representative serving on the ATA Executive Committee.


American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation’s freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or on Facebook. Trucking Moves America Forward